counter statistics
Sports News

IPL 2021, RCB vs KKR: There are captains and there are leaders, Virat Kohli is ‘definitely a leader’, says Harshal Patel

IPL 2021: Under Virat Kohli’s captaincy, Harshal Patel has taken 32 wickets this season.© BCCI / IPL

Virat Kohli may not be the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the Indian Premier League (IPL), but pacemaker Harshal Patel said Kohli is ‘definitely a leader’, whether he is on the sidelines or not. Kohli’s captaincy era in the IPL came to an end on Monday as RCB suffered a four-wicket loss against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Eliminator. Pacer Harshal Patel praised Kohli and thanked him for his contributions to RCB over the years. “Virat gives bowlers their space, allows you to carry out your plans. Grateful for him. I have learned a lot to play with him since 2012. As for his captaincy, there are captains and there are leaders. He is definitely ‘ a leader, “Harshal said during the post-match press conference.

“Just because he no longer has the captaincy does not make him any less a leader. I just want to thank him for his contributions to the team and my growth and when he supported me when I was down,” he added.

When the UAE leg of the IPL 2021 resumed, Kohli announced that he would resign as the captain of the franchise after the current issue.

Kohli became the regular captain at Royal Challengers in 2013 and has been part of the franchise as a player since the start of the IPL in 2008.

“We’re going to celebrate his contributions. It would have been nicer to celebrate it with a trophy in our hands. But that was not the intention. His contribution was tremendous; we are definitely going to celebrate it,” Harshal said.

Under Virat Kohli, RCB reached the final of IPL in 2016 and in the same edition, Kohli scored the most runs in a single season.


After that, however, RCB found it difficult and the team was unable to reach the playoffs in three consecutive years, and the jinx was finally broken in 2020.

In the 140 matches he has played in the IPL, Kohli has won 66 and lost 70, while four were no results.

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button