counter statistics
Sports News

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Hyderabad beat Uttar Pradesh to top group E and qualify for quarterfinals

Chama Milind claimed five wickets for eight runs in a sensational bowling performance when Hyderabad beat Uttar Pradesh by 29 runs to the top Group E and for the quarter-finals in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Championship Tuesday. Hyderabad remained unbeaten in five games to secure 20 points. Saurashtra, who finished second in Group E with 16 points after beating Delhi by 13 runs in Rohtak, will be among six teams over groups battling for the remaining three quarter-final places.

Delhi finished third in the group with 12 points and was knocked out of the domestic T20 championships. By chasing 148 for a win, UP were all out for 118 in 19.2 overs with left-arm pacemaker Milind (3.2-0-8-5) wreaking havoc.

Milind removed the opening matches Aryan Juyal (14) and Nalin Mishra (15) in the span of four balls in the fifth over and then returned to polish the tail through the wickets of Sameer Choudhary (10), Saurabh Kumar (1) and Ankit to claim. Rajpoot (6).

Akshdeep Nath was the top scorer for UP with his 32 balls 36. Hyderabad earlier, when he chose to bat, scored 147 for 7 in 20 overs, courtesy of Tanmay Agarwal, captain,’s 46 balls from 62 that went with seven fours and a six were sown.

Rahul Buddhi did not stay out on 38 off 29 balls. In another Group E match in Rohtak, Saurashtra chose to bat and scored 166 for 6, mainly thanks to wicketkeeper-batsman Sheldon Jackson’s unbeaten 79 off 47 balls (11×4, 2×6) and 42 off 29 deliveries by Chirag Jani .

Delhi chased 167 for a win and were limited to 153 for 5 in their 20 overs, without one coming up with big scores. Starting batsmen Dhruv Shorey (33) and Anuj Rawat (31) were the highest scorers. For Hyderabad, Kushang Patel was the choice of the bowlers with two wickets for 35 runs.

Short counts:

Hyderabad: 147/7 in 20 overs (Tanmay Agarwal 62, Rahul Buddhi 38 not out; Yash Dayal 2/20) beat Uttar Pradesh 118 all out in 19.2 overs (Akshdeep Nath 36; Chama Milind 5/8) by 29 runs.


Saurashtra: 166/6 in 20 overs (Sheldon Jackson 79 not out, Chirag Jani 42; Shivank Vashisht 2/42) beat Delhi 153/5 in 20 overs (Dhruv Shorey 33; Kushang Patel 2/35) by 13 runs.

Uttarakhand: 161/5 in 20 overs (Sanyam Arora 68 not out, Kunal Chandela 30; Gurinder Singh 2/21) lost to Chandigarh 164/4 in 19.3 overs (Manan Vohra 74, Sarul Kanwar 38; Agrim Tiwari 3/26) six wickets.

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button