counter statistics
Sports News

Feels good to finally be transferred with Khel Ratna: Neeraj Chopra

Tokyo Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra said on Saturday he felt good about finally being awarded the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award and that he would continue to do better going forward. Neeraj Chopra, wrestler Ravi Kumar, para-shooter Avani Lekhara, Indian soccer team captain Sunil Chhetri and Indian women’s cricket stalwart Mithali Raj were among the 12 athletes who received the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award on Saturday. “I feel very good, this is the biggest sports honor in the country. Planning has started, the camp has started a while back and I have already started my training.

“I am preparing for World Championships, Asian Games and Commonwealth Games. I will strive to do my best in Paris 2024 Olympic Games. I have been nominated for Khel Ratna for the 3-4 years, now I finally have this award “I feel very good,” Neeraj told ANI.

Speaking about her Khel Ratna, Mithali told ANI: “I feel very good, it’s a recognition for women’s cricket. I’m sure I’ll be more motivated to perform in the Women’s World Cup next year in New Zealand I focused on the World Cup, the team is doing very well. Our players are now experienced and we will now enter the World Cup with confidence. If we do well in the World Cup, women’s cricket will reach greater heights in the country. “

Indian opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan received the Arjuna award and he said he is very grateful to receive this award.

“I’m very happy that my talent got the appreciation, it’s a great honor and I’m very grateful. I’ve been playing cricket for 20-25 years, it’s a long journey for me. I’ll try to do my best “For my country. This award will give me motivation to do better. I congratulate everyone who was awarded today. I just want to perform for the team,” said Dhawan.


Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding achievement in sports field by a sportsperson over a period of the previous four years.

The specially organized awards function was held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. National Sports Awards are given each year to recognize and reward excellence in sport.

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button