counter statistics
Sports News

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Vidarbha stunned Maharashtra by 7 wickets to advance to the quarterfinals; Kerala, Karnataka Also Win

Vidarbha stunned imagined Maharashtra by seven wickets on Tuesday in the first quarter-final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to enter the final eight stage of the national T20 championship. When choosing campaign at the Feroz Shah Kotla, Vidarbha limited Maharashtra to 157/8 despite a brisk 45-ball 66 with one-down Rahul Tripathi. After that, they drove half-centuries through opening batsman Atharva Taide (56 off 38 balls) and captain Akshay Wadkar (58 not off 47 balls) to chase the target with 13 balls left.

Maharashtra lost captain Naushad Shaikh (0), who was caught in front of the wicket by young right-arm passer Yash Thakur (3/17), in the second over. Then Tripathi, who hit five boundaries and three sixes, grabbed the innings with opening bat Yash Nahar (29) while the two added 64 runs around the second wicket. But left-arm Orthodox bowler Akshay Karnewar (2/25) put Vidarbha back in contention by removing a well-placed Nahar to leave Maharashtra at 77/2.

An out-form Kedar Jadhav (6) became Karnewar’s second scalp when Maharashtra dropped to 91/3. Vidarbha bowlers made steady progress and did not allow the opposition batsmen to settle. Thanks to Tripathi’s beat, Maharashtra 160 closed.

After 158, Vidarbha lost opening batsman Siddhesh Wath (0) in the first over. But Taide, who hammered six boundaries and a maximum, along with captain Wadkar, knocked Maharashtra out of the tournament with their match-winning 95 runs standing for the second wicket.

After Taide fell, the captain took the onus on himself to complete the task in the company of Jitesh Sharma (28 not out of 7 balls), who smashed three consecutive sixes.

Vidarbha, who has progressed from the plate group, tackles Rajasthan on November 18 in the third quarterfinal at the Airforce Ground in Palam.

Meanwhile, Karnataka defeated Saurashtra by two wickets in a thriller. With the choice to bat first, Saurashtra was limited to 145/7 with Sheldon Jackson scoring 50 in just 43 balls.

Arpit Vasavada (26) and Prerak Mankad (23) also chipped in with useful contributions. KC Cariappa, V Vyashak and Koushik V each took two wickets. Karnataka chased the target with a ball over. Abhinav Manohar scored an unbeaten 70 in 49 balls with two fours and six sixes.

Contributions by Rohan Kadam (33) and Aniruddha Joshi (13) also played a role in the team’s victory. In the third quarter-final, Kerala beat Himachal by eight wickets after half-centuries by Mohammed Azharuddeen and Sanju Samson.

Short counts:

Maharashtra 157/8 (Rahul Tripathi 66, Yash Nahar 29; Yash Thakur 3/17, Akshay Karnewar 2/25) lost to Vidarbha 160/3 (Akshay Wadkar 58 not out, Atharva Taide 56; Mukesh Choudhry 1/24) wickets .


Saurashtra 145/7 (Sheldon Jackson 50, Arpit Vasavada 26; V Vyashak 2/19) lost to Karnataka 150/8 (Abhinav Manohar 70 not out, Jaydev Unadkat 4/22) by two wickets.

Himachal 145/6 (Raghav Dhawan 65, Midhun S 2/26) lost to Kerala 147/2 (Mohammed Azharuddeen 60, Sanju Samson 52 not out; PP Jaswal 1/13) by eight wickets.

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button