counter statistics
Sports News

BWF World Tour Finals: PV Sindhu, Satwiksairaj-Chirag Shetty Headline India’s Campaign

Badminton World Federation announced the draw for the BWF World Cup final on Tuesday and the seven Indian badminton players, including two-time Olympic medalist PV Sindhu, will take part in the event which starts on Wednesday in Bali. This is India’s best representation at the tournament. In the previous BWF World Cup final, only two shuttlers from the country made the cut. Notably, two-time Olympic medalist PV Sindhu won the first BWF World Cup in 2018.

The BWF World Tour Finals is the season-end tournament of the BWF World Tour, where the top eight players / pairs in the season’s rankings get access. The players / pairs are divided into two groups of four each. Each player / pair will play against each other player / pair in their group in a round robin format, with the top two in each group advancing to the semi-finals.

In women’s singles, reigning world champion PV Sindhu had a good draw, as she was placed in Group A with ‘All England Open Badminton Championships’ runners-up Pornpawee Chochuwong from Thailand, Yvonne Li from Germany and Line Christophersen from Denmark.

In the men’s singles, youngster Lakshya Sen faces a difficult outing in his first tour final, after teaming up with Tokyo 2020 champion and world no. 1 Viktor Axelsen from Denmark and world no. 2 Kento Momota of Japan was drawn.

Former world no. 1 Kidambi Srikanth has a relatively easier draw in the group, as he will face All England Open champion Lee Zii Jia of Malaysia, Frenchman Toma Junior Popov, and Thai youngster Kunlavut Vitidsarn.

In the men’s doubles, Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy will face off against Olympic gold medalists Lee Yang / Wang Chi-Lin, Thomas Cup silver medalists Kim Astrup / Anders Rasmussen, and top-ranked ‘followers’ Marcus Gideon / Kevin Sukamuljo.


Ashwini Ponnappa, two-time Olympics, and her partner N Sikki Reddy will make their BWF World Cup finals this time.

(This story was not edited by NDTV staff and is automatically generated from a syndicated stream.)

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button